About Basel

Trinational and outward-looking: the city of Basel

Abendstimmung am Rhein
The river Rhine with the backdrop of Basel's old town

Basel is located in the triangle where Switzerland, France and Germany all meet. A beautiful, well-tended old city, the river Rhine, secluded parks – both clean and safe – all of this is Basel. Added to this comes a wide selection of hotels, restaurants and bars, good shopping and a comprehensive range of free-time activities, including not least some 40 museums – some of which enjoy a global reputation.

This city on the Rhine is a key international-transport hub, with its airport close to the city, a Rhine port, two central stations, a dense public transport network and a modern road system ensuring good connections to everywhere in the world.

Basel Life Sciences

Basel is the oldest university city in Switzerland (550 years) and one of Europe’s leading teaching and research locations for the life sciences and medical research, as well as energy and cultural sciences. As Switzerland’s most dynamic economic region and one of the most productive and innovative worldwide, Basel is a key location for the life sciences industry and features the highest concentration of life sciences companies in all of Europe. Eminent service companies from the financial industry and from commerce and logistics similarly rank amongst the strong sectors in the region.

Über Basel

Trinational und weltoffen: das ist Basel

Abendstimmung am Rhein
Basler Altstadt entlang des Rheinufers

Basel liegt mitten in Europa, kompakt im Dreiländereck, wo sich die Schweiz, Frankreich und Deutschland treffen. Eine gut erhaltene, europaweit bekannte historische Altstadt, die Lage am Rhein, lauschige Grünanlagen, kompakt, sauber und sicher – das ist Basel. Dazu kommt eine reiche Auswahl an Hotels, Restaurants und Bars, gute Shoppingmöglichkeiten und ein umfangreiches Freizeitangebot, nicht zuletzt mit rund 40 Museen – einige davon mit Weltruf.

Die Stadt am Rhein ist eine wichtige Drehscheibe des internationalen Verkehrs: der stadtnahe Flughafen, der Rheinhafen, zwei zentrale Bahnhöfe, der gut ausgebaute öffentliche Verkehr sowie das moderne Strassennetz sichern die Verbindungen in die ganze Welt.

Basel Life Sciences

Basel ist die älteste Universitätsstadt der Schweiz (550 Jahre) und einer der führenden europäischen Lehr­ und Forschungsstandorte für Life Sciences, Medizinische Forschung, Energie­ und Kulturwissenschaften. Als dynamischste Wirtschaftsregion der Schweiz und eine der produktivsten und innovativsten weltweit ist Basel ein bedeutender Standort der Life Science Industrie. In Basel befindet sich die europaweit höchste Dichte an Life-Sciences-Unternehmen. Auch wichtige Dienstleistungsfirmen der Finanzbranche, Handel und Logistik, gehören zu den starken Branchen in der Region.