Environmental aspects

The Congress Center Basel invests continuously in the optimisation of its ecological indicators and wishes to further promote the environmentally aware behaviour of its employees at their workplace.

Waste

Switzerland is world champion when it comes to recycling. As part of the MCH Group, the Congress Center Basel recycles around 90% of its waste in cooperation with a local partner.

Catering

Wassermann & Company AG, the exclusive catering partner of Messe Basel and the Congress Center Basel, stands for responsible catering in terms of the environment, quality, transparency, the traceable origin of products and, naturally, the guarantee of a delicious culinary experience without a guilty conscience. Their work is centred on the conscious handling of food.

Purchasing

In order to reduce waste and minimise ecological impact, the Congress Center Basel ensures that the environment is taken into consideration through careful selection of its suppliers. The Congress Center Basel uses mainly biodegradable products for consumable supplies and works together closely with regional partners.

Energy

Solar Messe Basel
Photovoltaic system on the roof of Hall 1

Canton Basel-Stadt has pursued a progressive energy and environmental policy for many years. In 2013, Messe Basel dispensed almost completely with the use of fossil fuels.

A photovoltaic system was installed on the roof of Hall 1 in Basel in 1999 already and this was extended to four times its original size on the roof of the new exhibition building designed by renowned architects Herzog & de Meuron, which opened in April 2013. A solar unit capable of supplying an average of 60 to 80 households with electricity was also installed on the roof of the Congress Center Basel in January 2015.

Furthermore, new and more efficient refrigerating and lighting systems have been installed. The lighting system alone permits energy savings of 70% compared with the previous system.


City of Basel

In 2007, Basel received the "European Energy Award Gold" for its efforts to increase energy efficiency and use renewable energies. In addition, Basel was the first pilot region for Novatlantis, an initiative of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH), to implement the 2000-watt society.

Transportation

Tram Basel
Green Basel Tram
Another way in which Basel is endeavouring to protect the environment is through the reduction of private transport. Basel has thus developed a highly efficient public transport system. This is used by the city's inhabitants as well as by daily commuters from the surrounding areas. The city provides visitors with a "Mobility Ticket". This is handed to all guests when they check in at a hotel within the city boundaries and entitles them to use the city's public transport system (trams and buses) free of charge.

Water

Water consumption is carefully monitored in the Congress Center Basel. Only degradable cleaning materials are used and these are prehumidified to ensure that no water is wasted during the cleaning process.

Umwelt

Das Congress Center Basel investiert laufend in die Optimierung der ökologischen Indikatoren und motiviert die Mitarbeitenden zu umweltbewusstem Verhalten am Arbeitsplatz.

Abfall

Die Schweiz ist Weltmeisterin im Recyceln. Als Teil der MCH Group recycelt das Congress Center Basel in Kooperation mit einem lokalen Partner rund 90% des Abfalls.

Catering

Wassermann & Company AG, der exklusive Catering-Partner der Messe und des Congress Center Basels, steht für Catering-Service mit Fokus auf Verantwortung gegenüber der Umwelt, Qualität, Transparenz und Nachvollziehbarkeit der Herkunft der Produkte und natürlich die Garantie eines leckeren Erlebnisses ganz ohne schlechtes Gewissen. Ein bewusster Umgang mit Lebensmitteln gehört zur Basis ihres Schaffens.

Einkauf

Um Abfall zu reduzieren und die ökologischen Auswirkungen zu minimieren, wählt das Congress Center Basel seine Lieferanten sorgfältig aus. Das Congress Center Basel strebt einen umweltfreundlichen Umgang mit Verbrauchsmaterialen an. Es werden vorwiegend biologisch abbaubare Produkte verwendet und es wird eng mit lokalen Partnern zusammengearbeitet.

Energie

Solar Messe Basel
Photovoltaik-Anlage auf dem Dach der Halle 1
Der Kanton Basel-Stadt verfolgt seit vielen Jahren eine fortschrittliche Energie- und Umweltpolitik. Seit 2013 ist bei der Messe Basel der Verbrauch fossiler Brennstoffe fast zu 100 % eliminiert.

Bereits 1999 wurde eine Photovoltaik-Anlage auf dem Dach der Halle 1 in Basel installiert. Diese Anlage wurde auf dem Dach der im Jahr 2013 neu eröffneten, von den bekannten Architekten Herzog & de Meuron entworfenen Ausstellungshalle, um die vierfache Fläche erweitert. Auf dem Dach des Congress Center Basel befindet sich seit Januar 2015 ebenfalls eine Solaranlage, die im Durchschnitt 60 bis 80 Haushalte mit Strom versorgen kann.
 
Des Weiteren wurden effektivere Kühl- und Lichtsysteme eingesetzt. Durch das neue Lichtsystem konnte der Energieverbrauch im Vergleich zum vorangehenden System um 70 % gesenkt werden.

Stadt Basel

Durch die verstärkten Energieeffizienzmassnahmen und das Bestreben, erneuerbare Energien zu verwenden, wurde die Stadt Basel 2007 mit dem "European Engery Award Gold" ausgezeichnet. Zudem ist Basel die erste Pilotregion des Projekts Novatlantis, ein durch die Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich (ETH) initiiertes Projekt, das die Umsetzung einer 2'000-Watt-Gesellschaft ermöglichen soll.

Verkehr

Tram Basel
Grünes Basler Tram
Die Stadt Basel verfolgt eine umweltschonende Transportstrategie mit dem Ziel, den individuellen Verkehr zu reduzieren, indem der lokalen Bevölkerung, den Pendlern aus den umliegenden Regionen und dem Tourismus ein effizientes öffentliches Verkehrsnetz zur Verfügung gestellt wird. Die Stadt Basel offeriert ihren Gästen, die eine Übernachtung in einem Basler Hotel gebucht haben, das "Mobility Ticket". Mit diesem Ticket können die Gäste innerhalb der Stadt Busse und Trams gratis benutzen.

Wasser

Der Wasserverbrauch im Congress Center Basel wird streng überwacht. Im Congress Center Basel werden ausschliesslich abbaubare Putzmittel verwendet und es wird sichergestellt, dass während den Putzvorgängen nicht unnötig Wasser verschwendet wird.