About Basel

Trinational and outward-looking: the city of Basel

Abendstimmung am Rhein
The river Rhine with the backdrop of Basel's old town

Basel is located in the triangle where Switzerland, France and Germany all meet. A beautiful, well-tended old city, the river Rhine, secluded parks – both clean and safe – all of this is Basel. Added to this comes a wide selection of hotels, restaurants and bars, good shopping and a comprehensive range of free-time activities, including not least some 40 museums – some of which enjoy a global reputation.

This city on the Rhine is a key international-transport hub, with its airport close to the city, a Rhine port, two central stations, a dense public transport network and a modern road system ensuring good connections to everywhere in the world.

Basel Life Sciences

Basel is the oldest university city in Switzerland (550 years) and one of Europe’s leading teaching and research locations for the life sciences and medical research, as well as energy and cultural sciences. As Switzerland’s most dynamic economic region and one of the most productive and innovative worldwide, Basel is a key location for the life sciences industry and features the highest concentration of life sciences companies in all of Europe. Eminent service companies from the financial industry and from commerce and logistics similarly rank amongst the strong sectors in the region.

A propos de Bâle

Bâle, une ville trinationale ouverte sur le monde

Abendstimmung am Rhein

Bâle est située dans le triangle qui relie la Suisse, la France et l’Allemagne. Une vieille ville pittoresque, le Rhin, d'agréables espaces verts, un environnement soigné et harmonieux, tels sont les atouts de Bâle. S’ajoute à cela un vaste choix d’hôtels, de restaurants et de bars, des commerces en tous genres et une vaste palette d'offres de loisirs avec notamment 40 musées – dont plusieurs de renommée internationale.

La ville rhénane est une plaque tournante majeure du trafic international: l'aéroport proche du centre-ville, le port fluvial, les deux gares centrales, l'excellente infrastructure de transports publics et un réseau routier très dense assurent les liaisons avec le monde entier.

Basel Life Sciences

Bâle est la plus ancienne ville universitaire suisse (plus de 550 ans) et l'un des principaux sites d'enseignement et de recherche pour les sciences de la vie, la recherche médicale et les sciences de l'énergie et de la culture. Région économique la plus dynamique de Suisse et l’une des plus productives et innovatrices au monde, Bâle est un important pôle pour les sciences de la vie et présente la plus forte concentration d'entreprises du domaine des sciences de la vie à l'échelle européenne. De grandes entreprises dans les domaines de la finance, du commerce et de la logistique font la puissance économique de la région.